Postgraduate Research Scholarships

Commonwealth Government Changes to HECS Exemptions at Postgraduate Research Levels
The Commonwealth Department of Education, Science and Training (DEST) provides each university with a limited number of Research Training Scheme (RTS) places. Only students enrolled in a RTS Place will be HECS exempt.

ACU National Fee-Waiver Scholarships
Universities are able, however, to offer fee-paying places at postgraduate research level. In order to accept commencing students in places other than those under the DEST Research Training Scheme, ACU National has introduced a fee-paying scheme for higher degree places. Fees are set at the relevant HECS band levels. All Australian citizens and permanent residents are currently awarded an ACU national Fee-Waiver Scholarship. These scholarships are dependent on the continuing availability of funding and the candidate maintaining satisfactory academic progress.

Postgraduate Research Scholarships for Australian Citizens and Permanent Residents

Applications are welcomed from Australian citizens and permanent residents for the following postgraduate awards:

  • Australian Catholic University Postgraduate Awards (ACUPA) With Stipend;
  • Australian Postgraduate Awards (APA) With Stipend.

Postgraduate Research Scholarships for International Students

Applications are welcomed from international students for the following postgraduate awards:

  • Australian Catholic University International Postgraduate Research Awards (ACUIPRA) With Stipend;
  • International Postgraduate Research Awards (IPRA) are awarded for research study and cover the full tuition costs only. The awards are normally for three years. Applications are open to citizens of all overseas countries (except New Zealand), who are commencing full-time research in the year following application, for a higher degree by research.

Eligibility and Application Process
Applications are made through the same forms and process as application for candidature.

Applicants for all scholarships with stipend must hold a first class honours degree (HI) or equivalent qualification from an Australian university or recognised overseas university.

Applications for an APA With Stipend must be Australian citizens or have permanent resident status and must have lived in Australia continuously for the 12 months prior to the closing date of applications (31 October). Students who are unable to undertake full-time postgraduate study for compelling personal reasons (excluding employment) are eligible to be considered for a part-time APA With Stipend. The compelling personal reasons must be documented at the time of application.


Applications close on 31 October. Decisions regarding Postgraduate Research Scholarships are normally made at the end of each calendar year. Late applications for scholarships cannot be accepted. Incomplete applications also cannot be considered.

Further information regarding postgraduate research scholarships may be obtained from the Research Services website:, by email to or by contacting a Research Services Office.

Canberra Campus ACT (Signadou)
North Sydney Campus NSW (MacKillop)
Strathfield Campus NSW (Mount Saint Mary)

Research Services, Locked Bag 2002 Strathfield NSW 2135
Telephone (+ 61 2) 9701 4093 Facsimile (+ 61 2) 9701 4350

Brisbane Campus Qld (McAuley at Banyo)
Research Services, PO Box 456 Virginia Qld 4014
Telephone (+ 61 7) 3623 7294 Facsimile (+ 61 7) 3623 7328

Ballarat Campus Vic (Aquinas)
Melbourne Campus Vic (St Patrick's)

Research Services, Locked Bag 4115 Fitzroy Vic 3065
Telephone (+ 61 3) 9953 3154 Facsimile (+ 61 3) 9953 3315