Master of Philosophy (MPhil); Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Application forms are available from the Research Services website:, or by email to

Australian and New Zealand citizens and permanent residents apply directly to the relevant state ACU National Research Services Office.

International applicants apply directly to the ACU National Research Services Office on the Melbourne Campus (St Patrick’s).

Canberra Campus ACT (Signadou)
North Sydney Campus NSW (MacKillop)
Strathfield Campus NSW (Mount Saint Mary)

Research Services, Locked Bag 2002 Strathfield NSW 2135
Telephone (+ 61 2) 9701 4093 Facsimile (+ 61 2) 9701 4350

Brisbane Campus Qld (McAuley at Banyo)

Research Services, PO Box 456 Virginia Qld 4014
Telephone (+ 61 7) 3623 7294 Facsimile (+ 61 7) 3623 7328

Ballarat Campus Vic (Aquinas)

Melbourne Campus Vic (St Patrick’s)
Research Services, Locked Bag 4115 Fitzroy Vic 3065
Telephone (+ 61 3) 9953 3154 Facsimile (+ 61 3) 9953 3315

Candidates are admitted to undertake one of these research degrees in a field of study which has been broadly identified in the University’s Research Management Strategy as an area of strength:

  • Early Christian Literature;
  • Education Leadership;
  • Health Care: Exercise Science, Midwifery, Nursing and Palliative Care;
  • Lifelong Learning;
  • Mathematics Education;
  • Religion Studies and Religious Education;
  • Social Sciences, especially Social Work and Youth Studies;
  • Teaching and Learning;
  • Mission Focus: Church History, Church Music, Ethics, Philosophy, Psychology, Sacred Scripture, Spirituality, Theology.

Candidates may also be accepted in other fields where there exists a demonstrated capacity for research supervision.

Research degree students are accepted and enrolled in a faculty of the University and may be associated also with the University’s Institute for the Advancement of Research or a Research Centre.

Applicants for the MPhil or the PhD programs must have an appropriate undergraduate degree with honours, or an equivalent qualification, from a recognised university at a level acceptable to Australian Catholic University.
Entry requirements can be found in the Research and Professional Doctorate Degree Regulations.

Australian and New Zealand citizens and permanent residents undertaking the course are liable for the Higher Education Contribution Scheme (HECS), the Student Services Fee (SSF) and the Goods and Services Tax (GST).

International students undertaking the course pay full international tuition fees.